500th Anniversary

Today, we proudly celebrate the 500th anniversary of the founding of our village Agios Georgios Sikousis. We are proud of what a handful of disparate, poor, farmers from the surrounding villages, built when called by monk Sofronios Sepsis to populate the abandoned monastery of Agios Georgios.

In the last five-hundred years, with the sweat of their labor and the love in their heart, our ancestors tamed the wild mountains of central Chios to create a village we are proud to call our ancestral home.

The St. George Sikousis Syllogos of America, join the Agiorgousoi around the globe to salute the accomplishments of the past 500 years and wish our beloved village “may your next 500 years be full of peace and prosperity.”

Here’s to the next 500 years!

Official Handoff of Records

On Thursday, April 26th 2018 the process of transferring all files, records and assets of the Agios Georgios Sikousis Society to the St. George Sikousis Syllogos began with a meeting between the Board of Directors of each organization with a transfer of membership files and records being made at that time.

Once  the remaining assets have been transferred the old organization will file articles of dissolution with New York State and cease any further operations. Under the interim board and now the newly elected board the St. George Sikousis Syllogo has been acting in place of the soon to be terminated organization.

Election Results

Thank you to all who attended sunday’s Cutting of the Vasilopita and the elections of our board. In a sign of great things to come our Xorio Agios Georgis Sikousis got the coin in the Vasilopita!

Below are the results of the elections. Stay tuned for future updates and events. Thank you to everyone who continues to support the society and if you have not done so yet please visit www.sikousis.org to pay your membership.

President – John Pilavas
Vice President – Nick Papagiannakis
Treasurer – George Bougiamas
Secretary – John Bougiamas
Members of the Board
Kalliope Barlis
George Kakarides
Stefano Nyktas
Peter Billis
Lambros Karazournias
Demetrios Pilavas